Instructional Development workshops for Winter Quarter

by Graduate Division Staff
Monday, January 11, 2021 3:05 PM

Instructional Development is offering a range of workshops for graduate student Teaching Assistants and Teaching Associates during Winter Quarter. See more info below and here.

SPECIALTY WORKSHOPS
Register here

Crafting Your Teaching Philosophy Statement
Thurs, Jan 21, 10-11am PST, 2021

Preparing your CCUT Portfolio
Tues, Jan 26, 1-2pm PST, 2021         

Embodied Teaching: Feeling and Teaching through Everyday Social Justice Themes
Wednesday, February 03, 11am-12pm PST, 2021

Beyond the Basics: Advanced Teaching Techniques
Monday, February 8, 3pm-4pm PST, 2021

Teaching from the Trenches
Wednesday, February 10, 11am-12pm PST, 2021

Getting Feedback throughout your Course
Tuesday, March 2, 1pm-2pm PST, 2021

Interpreting and Analyzing ESCI Scores
Thursday, March 4, 11am-12pm, PST, 2021

PILLARS OF TEACHING ASSISTANTSHIP WORKSHOP SERIES
The “Pillars of Teaching Assistantship” workshop series and certificate is designed to provide TAs with a comprehensive, research-based foundation for teaching in the role of TA. TAs will earn a Pillars certificate after completing all six workshops and their brief pre- and post- workshop activities.

Register here

Pillar 1: Fostering Belonging and Community in the Classroom 
Thursday, January 7, 2021, 3-4pm PST OR
Monday, February 22, 3-4pm, PST, 2021

Pillar 2A: Active learning: What, why and how?
Tuesday, January 12, 11am-12pm PST OR
Wednesday, February 17, 1pm-2pm, PST, 2021

Pillar 2B. Creating Engaging Lessons
Thursday, January 14, 11am-12pm PST OR
Friday, February 19, 1pm-2pm, PST, 2021

Pillar 3A. Effective Questioning and Classroom Assessment Techniques
Tuesday, January 19th, 1pm-2pm PST OR
Thursday, February 25th, 12-1pm PST, 2021

Pillar 3B.  Designing and Grading Assessments
Monday, January 25, 4pm-5pm PST OR
Tuesday, March 02, 1pm-2pm PST 2021

Pillar 4: Improving Teaching through Feedback and Reflection 
Thurs, Jan. 28, 10-11am PST OR
Tues, March 9, 12-1pm PST, 2021

“Teaching Bites” with TAPAs (TA Pedagogical Advisors)
Weekly, informal meetings with colleagues to get ideas you can implement in section. Come talk about teaching, troubleshoot class challenges, ask questions, and get resources!

Wednesdays at 10am PST
The same Zoom link will be used each week

Planned weekly topics:

  • January 20th: Mid-term Check-ins
  • January 27th:Asynchronous Support
  • February 3rd: Getting through Grading
  • February 10th: Challenges in the Classroom