Global STS: Transnational Network Building - Asia, Oceania, and Beyond

by Chava Nerenberg, Graduate Programming Assistant
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 7:00 AM

The STS Futures Initiative is proud to continue its 2020-2021 series of workshops and panel discussions with Global STS: Transnational Network Building -- Asia, Oceania, and Beyond.

Join them on Thursday, May 20th, 5:30-7:30 (PST) for the first of a two-part "Global STS" series of events, discussing the exciting "global turn" in recent STS (Science, Technology, and Society) scholarship and publication.

In recent years, the interdisciplinary field of science and technology studies (STS) has been undergoing what some have called a “global turn” through greater attention to knowledge production, scientific practices, and therapeutics outside of North America and Western Europe. Regional and transnational academic networks have been established to support nascent STS communities around the world. Many emerging scholars are interested in exploring transnational network-building, collaborative research, and decolonial praxis in STS.

To facilitate dialogue on the intellectual and political stakes of this “global turn” and how to become involved, the STS Futures Initiative will be hosting a two-part series on Global STS. The first workshop, “Global STS I: Transnational Network Building - Asia, Oceania, and Beyond,” will feature STS leaders who have pioneered new academic networks in Australia, Asia, and globally. Come learn about their work and discuss how grad students can become involved. The second workshop, “Global STS II: Decolonial Praxis in STS,” will continue the conversation, featuring STS leaders who are pioneering new publishing opportunities in STS, expanding the Euro-American “canon” in STS, and building STS communities in Latin America, Africa, and the Middle East.

Global STS I: Transnational Network Building - Asia, Oceania, and Beyond

Thursday, May 20th at 5:30pm PST

Confirmed speakers/presentations:

  1. Dr. Kim Fortun (University of California, Irvine)- Platform for Experimental Collaborative Ethnography (PECE), STS Infractures, and Disaster STS (Irvine 5:30pm)

  2. Dr. Thao Phan (Alfred Deakin Institute for Citizenship and Globalisation)- AusSTS (Melbourne 12:30pm)

  3. Dr. Grant Otsuki (Victoria University of Wellington) - Japan/East Asia/NZ STS (New Zealand 2:30pm)

  4. Dr. Aalok Khandekar (Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad)- TransAsiaSTS (India 7:00am)

  5. Dr. Fadjar Thufail (Indonesian Institute of Sciences)- Southeast Asia STS (Jakarta 8:30am)

  6. Dr. Casper Bruun Jensen (Independent scholar, Phnom Penh) - Southeast Asia STS (Phnom Penh 8:30am)

    Moderated by Dr. Jaimie Morse (Sociology, UC Santa Cruz) and Dr. Kathleen Cruz Gutierrez (History, UC Santa Cruz)

Please contact stsfuturesinitiative@gmail.com with any questions, and follow the group on Twitter (@STSfutures) for program updates! 

Zoom link here 
Meeting ID: 975 0574 7092
Passcode: 436821